JACK ELLIOTT KARTING

#RACETOWIN

Castle Combe Karting Junior Championship 29th September 2019

Been karting for my next race. 14 of us today. Wet today but drying towards the end! 1st corner, taken tight, has no grip in the wet.

Practice

Heat 1

My 1st heat, I started 2nd and got off to a great start around the outside of 1st into the first corner, 4th cut across the 1st corner and the back 3 were side by side up to turn 2 and I came out 3rd. Completing the 1st lap, I was clipped from behind and I spun. Got going again but it was too late. Finished 4th!

Heat 2

My 2nd heat, I started 1st. I got off to a brilliant start and led it all the way, under pressure from 2nd but made it. So 1st!

Heat 3

My 3rd heat, I started 4th. A good start and got a run on 3rd and went up the inside of the 3rd corner and got past. But 2nd spun at the 2nd hairpin and I went around the outside, as he was spun, and clipped him and 4th got back past me so back into 3rd. So 3rd!

Heat 4

My 4th heat, I started 3rd & got off to an amazing start and tight on the 1st corner into 1st lost speed after clipping the barrier so down to 2nd. 1st messed up going onto the straight on the 2nd lap, letting me catch up but then I dropped back afterwards. Near the end of the 3rd lap, he spun and I got past. Finished 1st.

So, out of all 14 of us, that put me 4th! That meant that I was in the A Final, starting 4th! Brilliant!

Final – A

A Final, I got off to a good start from 4th and came out onto the straight still in 4th, following 3rd closely for a few laps, almost getting him in a few places and he went a bit wider than normal on the 1st corner & I went up the inside and got up into 3rd. 2nd spun slightly letting me catch him right up but I had decided to protect 3rd to get on the podium so I put a bit of pressure on 2nd but didn’t risk anything (if there was a gap I would have went for it). Finished 3rd!


From 4th in the A Final up to 3rd, brilliant!

So 3rd today.

First ever time being on the podium there, getting my first trophy in a long time, first time being on a podium racing outside so first ever trophy from racing outdoors and best result ever there of 3rd. Also only 1 spin today.

A brilliant result in the end!

Next race 6th October.

#timico #brightserve #hearingdogsforthedeaf

Information

This entry was posted on 29/09/2019 by in Karting.